Reverb 10 Prompt 2: Now, with Extra Bugs!

December 2 – Writing. What do you do each day that doesn’t contribute to your writing — and can you eliminate it? (Author: Leo Babauta)

I could allege I don’t know where to begin with this one, but I so, so do:

1) Internet Surfing – Yes, eliminatable. I can stop looking at NotCot.org, and I can (try to) kick my music blog addiction. I might even be able to not drool over things on foodgawker.com a few times a week. I can, perhaps, limit this distraction. I’ll try!
2) Everything I do on Gilt.com. Particularly the part that comes when I actually buy things. – Yes, this I can cease… but do I actually want to? These are big questions, people, big questions.
3) Pinterest – Yes. Eliminatable for sure. Pinterest is a beautiful, brain-not-included diversionary wonder, but it’s definitely also a time suck. Oooh. Shiny.
4) Gchat – considering that lately I only really talk to Niels on Gchat, I can’t eliminate this. I don’t want to; I already miss him horribly. Gchat abstinence would be one step far too far.
5) German learning… though that’s somewhat mandatory now, considering I DID sign up for the 7-week YOU WILL SPEAK GERMAN beginners course. Another thing to consider is that perhaps learning a third language can contribute to my writing in it in the future, which is also kind of a neat concept. (eeew. “neat.” But I’m leaving it)

So! There’s that. Now, please allow me to tell you what DEFINITELY doesn’t contribute to any creative process: earwigs. An infestation of the creatures in one’s dorm room is about as far away from creationary and creativity-provoking as it gets. It is, however, very good for rendering a grown woman helpless and sniveling in her bed. I sleep-woke-sleep-woke for about four hours last night, sure that with every tingle on any part of my body (pretty common, considering nerve damage does that) I’d find a glossy russet cockroach cousin scurrying over my beleaguered bod. Today my room was fumigated along with that of my roommate (she was the first to find the things, so either the arthropods discovered me later or I’m strikingly unobservant) and I also took matters into my own hands. How? a roll of duct tape, naturally. After about 45 minutes of focused taping, I’d sealed every conceivable crack around the A/C unit in my window (damn thing) and I’m now sitting in a cool, ostensibly bugless bedroom. Only one fumigation casualty was discovered today on the floor, tiny little legs drawn in and desiccated, and I’m hoping there are no family members around to mourn him. Please, internet, hope with me. My sanity depends on it.

To a more productive tomorrow, with fewer online distractions and bugs. Prost!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

