Enter The Dø

The name is The Dø (as in Do, Re, Mi, minus Julie Andrews), and the song is “At Last.”

I first heard this band, a delightful duo of Finnish and French–Olivia singing in English and Dan playing in…well…musical notes–about 8 months ago when I was still a madrileña. The album is a masterful mixture of folk, assy rock, nearly M.I.A. inspired, aggressive hip-hop on “Queen Dot Kong,” and school yard chants as in “Playground Hustle.” Give them a listen. It spans every genre identifiable to me, so I guarantee there’s something fresh and inviting on their album “a mouthful,” to tickle your fancy.

Goddamn, I wish I still lived in Europe so I could see them live.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

